[Skip to content]
To view this video please enable JavaScript, and consider upgrading to a web browser that supports HTML5 video

About Art

The Art subject area offers a unique provision of undergraduate and postgraduate opportunities that challenge the conventions of Art & Design practices and theories.

What's New


LBU_BA_FineArt, LBU_BA_graphics
http://www.leedsbeckett.ac.uk/school-of-art-architecture-and-design/NewsRSSArt/
http://www.leedsbeckett.ac.uk/school-of-art-architecture-and-design/EventsRSS/
2
{720284BF-5457-41AD-A078-6EEFFE7F733A}
2
Abbreviation
Art

Student Work

Art Staff

Dr Kiff Bamford, Reader

Dr Kiff Bamford is a Reader in the School of Art, Architecture and Design with research interests in Performance art and Continental Philosophy. He is author of 'Lyotard and the figural in Performance, Art and Writing' (2012) and 'Jean-François Lyotard: Critical Lives' (2017).

Contact
0113 81 21873
C.A.Bamford@leedsbeckett.ac.uk

David Beckitt, Senior Lecturer

David is a senior lecturer and graphic designer with a wealth of industry experience in branding, art direction, editorial design, illustration, photography, and type design. I have been teaching graphic art and design at Leeds Beckett University since 2008.

Contact
D.Beckitt@leedsbeckett.ac.uk

Christopher Bloor, Principal Lecturer

Chris Bloor is an artist and principal lecturer at Leeds Beckett University where he lectures across several courses and provides support for research and post-graduate study.

Contact
0113 81 25506
C.Bloor@leedsbeckett.ac.uk

Jonathan Briggs, Senior Lecturer

Jonny is a Senior Lecturer at Leeds Beckett University, teaching on the Graphic Arts and Design undergraduate programme and Creative Director and Owner of Field Design.

Contact
J.Briggs@leedsbeckett.ac.uk

James Chinneck, Senior Lecturer

James Chinneck has been producing and exhibiting his artwork in various locations in the UK and abroad for the past twenty years. Solo exhibitions include: Wish You Were Here?, Leeds City Art Gallery, West Yorkshire, England (1997); Americanenglish, Joseph Gross Gallery, Tucson, Arizona USA, (1999); Rice Fall, Sculpture Space, Utica, New York (2000); Trust Me I’m An Artist, Leeds Metropolitan University Gallery, West Yorkshire (2003). His most recent work, Tueri Terram has been shown at Tate Britain, London (2014)

Contact
0113 81 23908
J.Chinneck@leedsbeckett.ac.uk

Andrew Du Feu, Senior Lecturer

Andrew has worked at Leeds Beckett for nearly twenty years, teaching and supporting students across a range of art, design and filmmaking courses. Digital tools and workflows in a graphic arts context are central to his teaching and personal practice.

Contact
A.DuFeu@leedsbeckett.ac.uk

Dr Alan Dunn, Part Time Lecturer

Alan Dunn studied at Glasgow School of Art and School of the Art Institute of Chicago. His research explores new models for curating content for non-gallery audiences and his recent PhD considered the relationship between sound art and the everyday.

Contact
A.Dunn@leedsbeckett.ac.uk

Dr Jill Gibbon, Senior Lecturer

Jill Gibbon is a politically engaged artist with research interests in war, art, and aesthetics.

Contact
J.Gibbon@leedsbeckett.ac.uk

Benjamin Hall, Senior Lecturer

Ben is an animator, illustrator and interactive designer with over 15 years industry experience. He has taught undergraduate students at Leeds Beckett University since 2008.

Contact
B.D.Hall@leedsbeckett.ac.uk

Marion Harrison, Senior Lecturer

Marion Harrison is a Senior Lecturer in Fine Art working on both UG and PG programmes. Marion is currently Acting Course Leader for BA(Hons) Fine Art and Course Leader for APD in Professional Practice in Art and Design.

Contact
0113 81 21866
M.H.Harrison@leedsbeckett.ac.uk

Joanne Hassall, Senior Lecturer

Jo Hassall is a Senior Lecturer in Graphic Arts and Design. Her practice-based research explores ways in which visual props can activate sites of learning.

Contact
0113 81 23316
J.Hassall@leedsbeckett.ac.uk

Graham Hibbert, Senior Lecturer

Graham Hibbert is a photographer, filmmaker, designer and developer whose work primarily explores ideas of the abstract in relation to Digital Imaging.

Contact
0113 81 21867
G.Hibbert@leedsbeckett.ac.uk

Ben Judd, Senior Lecturer

Ben Judd is an artist and a Senior Lecturer in Fine Art at Leeds Beckett University.

Contact
0113 81 23908
B.Judd@leedsbeckett.ac.uk

Peter Lewis, Senior Lecturer

Peter Lewis is an artist and curator. His work has extended over two decades, holding posts as varied as the Chief Curator of Sharjah Biennale, and Independent Curator at Kunstverein, Bregenz. He has curated projects at Tramway and Tate Modern, publishing new research in his journal.

Contact
P.N.Lewis@leedsbeckett.ac.uk

Kevin O'Brien, Senior Lecturer

Kevin works with painting, engaging with the traditions and limitations of that medium in complex and adventurous ways.

Contact
0113 81 24974
K.OBrien@leedsbeckett.ac.uk

Harold Offeh, Reader

Harold Offeh was born in Accra, Ghana in 1977 and grew up in London, UK. Harold is interested in the space created by the inhabiting or embodying of history. His work encompasses performance, social practice, video and photography, often using humour as a means to confront the viewer with aspects of contemporary culture and history.

Contact
0113 81 21868
H.Offeh@leedsbeckett.ac.uk

Dr Casey Orr, Senior Lecturer

Dr Casey Orr is a photographer, researcher and Senior Lecturer in the school of Art, Architecture and Design. She is also a member of the feminist art collective, F=.

Contact
0113 81 26047
C.Orr@leedsbeckett.ac.uk

Simon Ringe, Senior Lecturer

Simon studied at the Royal College of Art and is a practising artist, currently undertaking a research-based, practice-led PhD. He recently had his work publicly screened as part of Light Night Leeds 2015.

Contact
0113 81 25740
S.Ringe@leedsbeckett.ac.uk

Dr Liz Stirling, Senior Lecturer

Dr Liz Stirling is a creative practitioner using performance, collaborative production and art activism to explore how we connect with each other. She has performed, published and run projects extensively in the UK including at Tate Britain, Tate Modern Summer School and toured with the British Art Show 8.

Contact
0113 81 23329
L.Stirling@leedsbeckett.ac.uk

Ian Truelove, Principal Lecturer

Ian Truelove is an educator, artist, designer and technologist whose work explores the nature of material reality through creative practice. His research, which is predominately painting-led, is informed by philosophy, quantum theory and art history.

Contact
0113 81 21891
I.A.Truelove@leedsbeckett.ac.uk

Back to Top Button
Back to Top Button